United Self Defense Law Firm | Virginia Laws Archives - United Self Defense Law Firm

Virginia Laws

  •  
    November 6, 2017

    Saturday, November 11th at 10 a.m. USDL will be giving our seminar on “Firearns and the Law”. Our goal through these seminars is to empower responsible gun owners with knowledge of their rights. We recommend all members in the Richmond area try to attend, and invite your friends and family members. This will be important information you’re not going to want to miss! Please be …

  •  
    March 8, 2017

    At the end of February the Virginia State Senate passed some important legislation which relates to conceal carry rights in Virginia. The bills are waiting for Governor Terry McAuliffe to take action, either by signing them into law or by vetoing the bills. Gun Safety Classes for Abuse Victims Bill SB1300 is meant to assist victims of abuse with attending gun safety training, possibly …

  • October 26, 2016

    One of the more frequent inquiries from clients this time of year involves the legality of open and concealed carry at polling places. There are two distinct components to our answer in these situations: what does the law stipulate; and, what do we advise? Our job as your law firm is to advise you on your legal rights, and also to provide you legal …

  •  
    September 8, 2015

    United Self Defense Law Firm, PLLC partner Graven Craig discusses Virginia Code exceptions regarding concealed carry in vehicles on school property, specifically in the ingress/egress areas the parking lot or driveway. This video contains legal advice that is only applicable to USDLaw clients. No other claims are implied. Click to View Video in a New Window — Clients Only Content

  •  
    September 8, 2015

    United Self Defense Law Firm, PLLC partner Graven Craig discusses Virginia Code exceptions regarding the carrying of unloaded firearms on school property, including specific direction about secured containers and compliance. This video contains legal advice that is only applicable to USDLaw clients. No other claims are implied. Click to View Video in a New Window — Clients Only Content

  •  
    August 6, 2015

    In Virginia, it is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and or a $2,500.00 fine, to carry a firearm hidden from common observation. A valid defense to this charge is that you were issued a valid Concealed Handgun Permit. Virginia Code Section 18.2-308(D) provides a mechanism and lays out the path for attaining a concealed handgun …